Reader Problems Tag

Reader Problems Tag

Being a reader is not all fun and games. We readers experience all different kinds of hardships that I talk about in this post.

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I’m a mood reader so most of the time, I just pick a book to read that I’m in a mood for.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I’ll just quit. Or still try to finish it. Whatever mood I’m in. But if I feel like I’m torturing myself just to finish a book, I’ll just put it down and grab another one on my TBR pile.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

My goal for last year was to read 100 books but I failed and only managed to read 93 books (not counting some re-reads). However I managed to read 19 books that month despite of my busy schedule just to try to accomplish my reading goal. So yes, I’ll still catch up and try to reach my goal.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

IMG_20150617_124930

Be a little sad for a little while but eventually get over it. I don’t really care that much if my books don’t match I’m just happy I got the physical copy because books are expensive here (especially that I’m only a college student).

5.  You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Here’s the thing: I can’t cry in public or even when I’m with my friends while I’m reading a book or watching a movie no matter how sad it is. I just can’t. Whenever I watch movies with friends and they start crying I just sit there with a blank look on my face. I feel so heartless whenever this happens but I don’t know what’s wrong with me that I can’t cry while reading or watching when I’m with other people.

eyeemfiltered1434516514967

But I do cry in front of my friends when I open up about something bad that just happened in my life. And yes, of course, I ugly cry when I’m alone reading a very sad book. I just can’t do it in front of other people.

6.  A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?

I’ll probably just search for a spoilery review so I can remember what happened in full details.

7. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I hate telling people that I’ll only let them borrow my books if we’re really close friends (I stopped letting people borrow my books because they get damaged, not returned, returned but not in a loooong time). I’ll probably just lie and tell them that another person is borrowing it. I’m so bad.

8. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Watch a lot of episodes of what T.V. show I’m currently addicted to. (Like what I’m doing now. I blame Teen Wolf).

9. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Depends what titles I really am desperate to read and have a physical copy of. Otherwise, I’ll just get a digital copy of it.

10. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

It depends what I’m in the mood for to read. I can read it right after I got my hands on it or it can sit on my shelf for months.

What are your reader problems? Are there any problems in this tag that you can relate to? Tell me!

7 thoughts on “Reader Problems Tag

  1. Oh you are so lucky that you can’t cry in public. I have read a book that made me cry in public. Recently, I was on an airplane and chose a sad movie to watch. Bad move because I was trying my best to keep my tears in check. D’oh! I usually choose to DNF a book by 25%. If I am already at 50%, I will most likely keep reading. It’s silly, I know but I don’t want the book to win! Haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

