Mid-Year Book Buying Habits Resolution

Another random post in which I show you what happened to my book buying habits when I joined an online bookish community last year.

I have real life bookish friends and best friends who share the love of of books with me. We go to the bookstores together and just browse books there for hours. I liked buying books before I joined bookstagram last year. But I did not thought it was necessary to always buy books before.

The left photo was taken May last year and the right one was taken just yesterday. Sure I still have some books tucked away for both of these photos but you guys can see how my collection has grown in just a year. I blame bookstagram, my favorite secondhand bookstore and warehouse sales. Lol just kidding, I blame myself for having no self-control in buying books.

eyeemfiltered1432655357213

Even though I got most of my books from sales and secondhand bookstores, I added all the costs and they were still expensive. I never thought I would be the girl who always shops for books and yet lets the book sit on her shelf and gather dust.

Before, I was the girl who goes to a bookstore and see if any title interests me. Yes, I buy 3 books at a time before but I always made sure that I read one of them when I get home then read others after I finished the first book. I miss that girl. She never lets her TBR pile go crazy. Well, maybe because she has not been introduced to so many amazing books yet. But still. I want to be that girl again.

Then I discovered bookstagram and booktube. I became jealous of all those people who has like a hundred books on their TBR. I thought it was cool to have so many books sit unread on my shelf but right now I thought it’s not that cool anymore.

Why did I keep buying books yet I read them months after buying them? Or worse, I never did end up reading some of them. Why do I let these unread words sit on my shelf and never bother to discover them? Just because I thought it was so cool?

eyeemfiltered1433304904132

I came to a point that all I did was buy books. I was never the girl who always shop for clothes and all those girly stuffs but I did shop for those things once in a while. But when I became addicted to buying books? It took me a loooooong time before I buy new clothes again.

For my mid-year resolution (I never did these things before lol) I want to change my book buying habits.  It’s not as crazy as other people’s but still, I have neglected other important things just so I can buy a ton of books. I didn’t keep money for saving up, clothes and food (yes, food, I’m that crazy).

I love books so much but I think it’s time for me to save money and buy other things other than them. I’ll miss going to the bookstore as frequently as I did before but this resolution really has to happen.

So here’s the plan:

  1. I have a ton of review copies to get to that I think will last me a month.
  2. I’m not going into a book buying ban ever. Yes, I want to control my book buying habit but going into a ban will just make me desperate to go into a bookstore and buy loads of books.
  3. Think of other things I have to buy. I have this thing I’m saving up for until July then after that I’m thinking of saving up for a new phone so I can take pretty photos for my bookstagram. I may not attend MIBF this year (again) because of those two things I’m saving up.
  4. Just read the digital copy of the book. I’m already doing this so I’m not going into any difficulty with this plan. I just hope my eyes won’t get mad at me.

I think that’s it. I hope I stick to this plan. I’ll let you guys know if this mid-year resolution is a success in a few months.

Are you crazy at your book buying habits?

3 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Buying Habits Resolution

  1. I know how you feel, Angel! It was the same for me when I first started blogging–I noticed all these amazing bloggers sharing their book hauls every week and I wanted to have a large bookish collection too. I buy a little less than a hundred books a year, and what’s worse is that most of them are NOT from sales or second-hand bookstores. Probably 90% of all my 400 books were purchased at full price. D: Not sure how I can personally stop this, but I do love your resolutions, especially the second one! (Book buying bans begone!)

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    Like

  2. Sounds like a great plan. I had a problem with buying just books for months when I first started blogging, but it eased off on it’s own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

