BOOK REVIEW: Dead Girl Walking (Royal Reaper #1) by Ruth Silver

My rating: ★★★

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

23903634
Cover linked to Goodreads!

Publication Date: November 25, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Forget everything you know about grim reapers.

Princess Ophelia Dacre sneaks out of the castle to visit her boyfriend in secret. A perfect night cut short when she’s brutally murdered.

Ophelia is given the rare chance to become a grim reaper. She must become Leila Bele, cut ties with her old life, and follow the rules of the reapers. Her greatest adventure begins with death.

My review:

Copy was provided by the author. This does not affect my review in any way.

I really wanted more from the story, characters and the world. The world was very promising but I’m a little disappointed with some of the things in the book:

1. So Princess Ophelia and Larkin, a commoner, has been dating for about a year. Ophelia hid her identity to Larkin so she used a different name, Leila. She faked her name but did not give her surname to him. Remember, they were dating for about a year. I can’t imagine myself or anyone dating someone when you don’t know their surnames. If she can fake a first name why can’t she fake a surname?

He didn’t know her surname. She hadn’t given it, but it wasn’t possible for this girl to be a princess.

2. I want to world to be more vividly described. It’s my first time reading a fantasy book set in the 14th century and I expected the world to be more vividly described. I felt like an outsider watching the characters in the world, not actually in the world.

3. The cast of characters are very promising but they lacked in personality. I couldn’t connect to any of them.

4. Romance is meh. I knew from the very beginning that Wynter and Leila (the new Ophelia) met they’re going to like/love each other. There are not just too many scenes that are swoon-worthy.

5. A scene that did not make any sense. There’s this particular scene where Wynter have to reap a person that is important to Leila. He told her about it and insisted that she is not permitted to come because of the rules but of course, she went with him. I mean why tell her about it if she’s not permitted to go then in the end, he let her go with him.

However you may like this book if:

1. You want to read an interesting take on grim reapers. The reason why I wanted more from this book because it just sounds very promising.

2. You love rebellious characters.

3. You want a light fantasy read.

Overall, this is still an enjoyable book. I did not expect too much so I’m just a little bit disappointed.

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Dead Girl Walking (Royal Reaper #1) by Ruth Silver

  1. Eeeh. I recently read a book that was exactly like this – no emotion, lacking in internal and descriptive narrative, resulting to a mediocre read that left me feeling frustrated and bored. Not a fan of the “all tell no show” style, to be honest! Pass, but go you for finishing it 😛 I would have DNFed!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

