Six Months of Book Blogging

six months of book blogging (1)

To celebrate my six months of book blogging, I answer ten questions from Paper Fury’s ‘Bout This Blogger tag!

1. Why did you start blogging?

I have been wanting to start a blog since 2012 and it was actually on my bucket list to make one. I didn’t start right away then because I didn’t know what to blog. All I’ve been reading then are fashion, lifestyle and travel blogs. I’m not much of a fashionista and my self-esteem was lower than my grades then so fashion blogging was a big no-no. Nothing interesting is happening in my life then and now so I don’t know how to start a lifestyle blog. I don’t travel even though I want to so I can’t really start a travel blog. Even though I have been a reader since forever it did not occur to me then to start a book blog! I thought book reviews are boring so I never read those before. How terrible, right?

Last year I was introduced to the awesomeness that is booktube that I wanted to start my own channel but I don’t have a good camera so I didn’t do it again. I want to work in a publishing house someday so I thought I might as well start a blog and I finally did last January!

2. What’s the story behind your blog’s name?

My bookstagram account was actually my personal account but due to the lack of any interesting thing happening in my life I decided to turn it into a bookstagram account. I came up with @bookishangel because I’m bookish (lol) and my nickname is Angel (boring nickname I know) then it reminded me of Clockwork Angel so that’s pretty cool. I just added “The” to my title because it looks good.

3. How many designs have you been through since you started blogging? (Pictures! We demand pictures!)

I first started on Blogger but I won’t include the designs I’ve been through in it. So the following themes are the ones I used here on WordPress.com

I first used the Hemingway Rewritten Theme.

screenshotlg
Source

Then I cleaned my blog when I decided to not participate on book blitzes anymore so I decided to have a new theme as well. The second one is the Sela Theme. It’s really pretty but many people uses it already so I changed to my current theme now.

sela-frontpage
Source

4. Have you ever switched blog platforms? What made you move? If you haven’t ever changed…why?

I was on Blogger first. It was super easy to use and I enjoyed my time there. However, I was lured by the beautiful design of WordPress.com and I thought that there are more theme options here than on Blogger (lol stupid). So I made the move On WordPress.com last March and late in April I was planning to go back to Blogger because I cannot stand how limited WordPress was. So I thought it through and through and just decided to stay here on WordPress.

5. How long does it take you to write a post? What’s your process mostly like?

It depends. Usually with reviews it can take for like 20 minutes to 2 hours when I get distracted by other things. Then sometimes, I first save the finished review as draft then add more things if ever then sometimes I just write it, then read and see if everything’s okay then publish it immediately.

With discussion posts and recommendations I write them then if I’m already losing my creative flow I stop, save them as drafts, pick them up again if I feel up to writing them then publish them once I’m satisfied. Sometimes, I also publish them right after finishing them like my Musing Mondays posts.

6. Have you ever been super nervous about a post? Why?! What was it?

So far I did not have that “super nervous” feeling but I was a little nervous when I posted my review for Untaken then I have to e-mail the publisher the link for it. If you read my review for it, you would know that I didn’t like it that much so I was a little nervous about having to e-mail CQ  because I requested that book from them and I didn’t like it as I thought I would have which sucks.

7. Do you have a blogging schedule?

Not really. If a Musing Mondays topic interests me, I’ll write something about it on a Monday night, post it right after or the next day. Other than that, I don’t really have a schedule.

8. Do you tell people In-Real-Life about your blog? Their reactions?

My friends know about this blog and I posted a link to Facebook a couple of times but deleted them immediately. My aunt asked for a link but I told her I’m too shy to tell her. My family doesn’t know I run a blog or at least, they suspect that I do because they’ve seen me write posts many times.

9. Top ten blogs you read/comment on the most! Go! Go!

Stay Bookish

Nose Graze

Deadly Darlings

The Social Potato

Istyria Book Blog

Wishing Upon A Book

Mostly YA Book Obsessed

Caffeinated Book Reviewer

In A Bookish World

10. If you could change/improve things about your blog, what would they be?

Move to self-hosted WordPress.

Have a unique theme and beautiful blog design.

Have good graphic design.

Pretty much everything I’ve said in my Blogger Dreams post! 🙂


I wish I’ve done this blogging thing earlier, really. My posts may suck so much if I’ve done this in 2012 but at least I would have so much fun and great people around me when I went through a really bad part in my life last 2013.

Anyway, happy six months of book blogging to me! This has been a fun six months of my life and I’m looking forward to the next six months and six years! Thank you to my readers and the people who takes the time to comment on my posts. I do not reply to every single one but that’s because I suck at commenting back. Sorry! I hope to have a giveaway in the future to show you how thankful I am but for now, I’m just sending you some warm virtual hugs!

4 thoughts on “Six Months of Book Blogging

  1. Giiirl! Go self-hosted WordPress! Trust me, it’s so much better and so much more fulfilling because there are so many possibilities, and yes, it’s not very limiting, either. I’m pretty certain there are hosts out there that can give you a subdomain (ex: bookishangel.maryfaye.net) or something like that. I know someone and I’ll ask if she can get a subdomain for you 😉

    Also, thank you so much for regularly commenting on mine! Your thoughts and insights are absolutely appreciated. I hope you continue blogging and never let that spark fade – we need more awesome people in this community!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know how subdomains work. 😦 Haha. Thank you so much! I hope I find the time to blog now that I’m entering my third year of college.

      Like

Leave a Reply

