BOOK REVIEW: End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee

18500665
Cover linked to Goodreads!

My rating: ★★★ + 0.5

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Post-Apocalypse, Romance

Publication Date: May 12, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

End of Days is the explosive conclusion to Susan Ee’s bestselling Penryn & the End of Days trilogy.

After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all.

When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path toward war. As unlikely alliances form and strategies shift, who will emerge victorious? Forced to pick sides in the fight for control of the earthly realm, Raffe and Penryn must choose: Their own kind, or each other?

My review:

Before you reading this review you may want to check out my review of Angelfall and World After first.

Again, I’m not used to reviewing the last book in a series/trilogy so there might be some minor spoilers.

Last book in this epic trilogy? NOOOOOO. SUSAN EE I WANT MORE!

After reading World After, I jumped right into this book because I need more of Raffe and Penryn. There are so many hotter scenes *Chapter 5* between the two so that was very, very nice.

‘This coming from a guy who run around shirtless all the time?’ Of course, I kind of like him shirtless and showing off his six-pack abs, but I don’t mention that.

526208

Finally, the two opened up about their feelings with each other and I just cried because the things Raffe said are so beautiful. Why did no one has ever done that to me? WHY?!

‘You’re a very special girl, Penryn. An amazing girl. An I-didn’t-even-know-someone-like-you-existed kind of girl. And you deserve someone who treats you like you’re the only important thing in his life because you are. Someone who plows his fields and raises pigs just for you.’

13897770

I love how Raffe and Penryn talk to each other. Their conversations are all so funny, awkward and swoon-worthy! Although I was a little annoyed at Penryn because even though Raffe said all those beautiful things to her she still questioned his love for her like what even girl?

And I’m here drooling after a guy who doesn’t even want me.

After those hot and endearing moments comes the fight scenes. I don’t have any problem with fight scenes in books because they’re pretty cool and in this trilogy, Susan Ee wrote those kind of scenes in a really good way. But in End of Days there are just so many fight scenes that reading is exhausting. I felt like there’s nothing happening at all to help them solve the problem.

tumblr_mvc6ezvc3G1sgobfro1_500

What happened to my new favorite villain, Beliel, is just so heartbreaking I want to throw glasses everywhere and break things up. I would have been there for him. It’s really, really sad.

This book portrayed humanity at its best. The scenes before the actual ending are heartbreaking, sad and hopeful. I think that would have been my favorite scene in the book (well next to the scene in Chapter 5).

‘History is filled with teenagers who lead the fight. Joan of Arc. Okita Soji, the samurai. Alexander the Great. They were all teenagers when they began leading their armies. I think we’re back to those times again, kid.’

Maybe there’s an art to being human.

I really, really, really like Penryn. She’s badass and loyal to everyone and in this book, she proved it! She’s amazing!

Overall, this ending to this epic trilogy is between good to meh. The fight scenes were just too much and nothing really happened to most of those scenes. I’m not satisfied with this ending. This book is good but I WANT MORE. I’M CRAVING FOR MORE. The world and characters Susan Ee created are just so damn amazing and fantastic and all those good stuff.

The dedication is just touching.

Dedicated to readers like Penryn who have it tough at home, who had to grow up fast due to life circumstances, and who have no idea how much potential they really have. You are being fire forged, just like Penryn. And like her, you can turn your greatest trials into your greatest strengths.

Thank you Susan Ee, for that dedication.

I’m sad that this trilogy is over I really want more of the world and the characters. Maybe a novella when Raffe was the mighty archangel before? Or something about Beliel? I just really love this trilogy. It’s so well-written and it has everything. Crazy, badass characters, swoon-worthy but not too cheesy romance, amazing world-building. EVERYTHING.

Again, sorry for this poorly written review. I’m still not used to reviewing sequels and ending to series/trilogies but thank you for reading them!

angel heart

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: End of Days (Penryn & the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee

Leave a Reply

