BOOK REVIEW: World After (Penryn & the End of Days #2) by Susan Ee

17849112
Cover linked to Goodreads!

My rating: ★★★ + 0.5

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Post-Apocalypse, Romance

Publication Date: November 19, 2013

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world. When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken. Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go. Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

My review:

Copy was provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

World After is the second book in a trilogy so if you haven’t read the first book, Angelfall, this may be a little spoilery. Also this is the first time I’ll be reviewing a second book in a series/trilogy so I’m unsure on how to do this without spoiling anything so there may be some minor spoilers. You can also read my review of Angelfall.

Right after I finished Angelfall, I jumped into World After. It has a pretty good start and has this little heartbreaking scene between Penryn and her little sister Paige. But I just stopped reading it for like a month because it’s a little slow for my liking. The first half was not fast-paced as Angelfall so yeah. 😦 I also missed Raffe, there’s no sign of him for almost half the book so I was not motivated to finish it right away.

8935439 But I really like to finish this trilogy since the third book just came out so I picked it up again and despite the slow pacing for half of the book, I finished it! Between Angelfall and World After, the second book is the most heartbreaking. It showed glimpses of Raffe when he was the mighty archangel before and the torn relationship of Penryn and Paige. I had soooo many feels for Penryn and Paige that I absolutely cannot.

Because she looked like a monster, that’s why. And it never occurred to me that monsters might feel pain.

The fact that Penryn admitted that she made the mistake of ignoring her sister just beacause she looks like a monster made me really like her. Penryn is your typical badass female main character in Angelfall but because of what she admitted to herself about what she thinks of Paige she made like her more.

I may or may not have another favorite villain because of this book. Ooooopppsss.

In the end they always abandon us. No matter how much we love them or how much we do for them. We’re never good enough. We’re the rejects, you and I. The abandoned.

And the romance between Penryn and Raffe? It’s just getting hotter and better.

tumblr_m5h2pxyHOl1qg9f9k.gif.pagespeed.ce.o61pq8nz_R

“I hated losing her.” His voice is a low growl. “I hadn’t realized just how attached I’d gotten.” He reaches and moves a strand of wet hair out of my face. “How dangerously addictive she could be.”

14100754 (1)

He looks at me with those killer eyes in that perfect face over his Adonis body.

I’m officially jealous of Penryn now. Someone please give me a Raffe RIGHT NOW.

8492087

I liked Angelfall a little bit than World After but it’s still a good book with more romance and action. I’m sorry for this poorly written review, I’m just not used to reviewing sequels so I just included gifs. 🙂 I’m currently reading the last book in this trilogy so expect a review for that this week or early next week. 🙂

angel heart

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: World After (Penryn & the End of Days #2) by Susan Ee

  1. I was a bit ambivalent about the first book in this series if I’m going to be completely honest, but this review is giving me the motivation to continue on with the next two books. So glad you found this a fitting and satisfying conclusion. Thanks for sharing and fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

