“Special” Books I Own

musing mondays

Musing Mondays is a weekly event where MizB will ask a book/reading-related question, and I will answer with my own thoughts on the topic. This is a meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What types of “special” books do you own? For example, do you have any really old books? Any collections based on your interests (eg. architecture, etc)?

A day before I went to my favorite secondhand bookstore two weeks ago, I had this strange feeling that I reeeeeally need to go there because I might find something really good. It happened to me three or four times before and everytime I went there I scored some awesome titles. That’s really weird, right? Whatever, at least I got some good books in very cheap prices!

As I was saying, I went to my favorite bookstore two weeks ago to look for some books. And guess what I found? A first edition Harry Potter book! *insert crazy dance here*


                  CAM02537CAM02538

My goal for this year is to collect all Harry Potter books and marathon them in December. I haven’t read any of the Harry Potter book so this seems like a good idea. (Don’t judge me please lol.)

Back in February, I also got the first HP book in this rare edition! I haven’t seen this edition anywhere so it’s pretty special to me.

CAM02539

By slowly collecting these HP books and buying them from secondhand bookstores I’ll get them cheap but in different editions. But it’s okay because reading them in different formats/editions sounds cooler anyway.

CAM02540

My mom brought out this ancient looking cookbook yesterday from our storage cabinet and I remembered that I used to read it when I was younger. I’m a big reader since I was a kid but I didn’t have a lot of books then so I just read this cookbook.       CAM02541

CAM02542

A few months ago I bought this Maya Angelou book from the same secondhand bookstore I bought the Harry Potter books. It’s not the first series so I can’t read it yet but at least I have it! It’s a little battered too but that’s okay because it’s really cheap.

CAM02543

I also have three old copies of the Star Trek books!

CAM02545

Do you own any “special” books? Maybe a set of books handed down from one generation to another in your family. Tell me!

5 thoughts on ““Special” Books I Own

  1. HAH! I have one that is a first signed edition of a book, but it’s something that I bought on a whim from a professor in college and haven’t really read yet. BUT! I do have a French edition of one of my favorite books ever, Blood Song! The author sent it to me and I love it because I can practice my French skills while having a gosh good time with i!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  2. You sort of have a bookish sixth sense–haha, that’s awesome. I wish I had that so I don’t get disappointed every time I leave secondhand stores. :/ And not judging for not having read HP yet–I’ve only finished the first four books as of now. 🙂

    I don’t really have any special books that I can think of, actually. I didn’t start reading until I was eleven and the books I buy are usually in new condition. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

