Trade Paperbacks FTW!

Musing Mondays is a weekly event where MizB will ask a book/reading-related question, and I will answer with my own thoughts on the topic. This is a meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you prefer Hardcover, Trade Paperback, or Mass Market Paperback? Why?

I have always been a reader and I wasn’t really picky with book formats before as long as the pages are intact and readable. Last August, I joined the bookstagram community on Instagram and that’s when I started getting picky with book formats.

I was okay with reading mass market paperbacks before but now? Not so much. They’re small but very heavy and they make my hands hurt from holding them up when I read them. One thing I noticed about MMPB is that they’re a little cheaper than trade paperbacks.

Hardcovers are okay to me. The downsides are they’re really expensive (you can buy two paperbacks for the price of one hardcover) and they’re pretty heavy too. But they’re really gorgeous and look good when they’re put in a shelf. It’s good to invest in hardcovers too because they’re less likely to be damaged than other book formats.

My favorite format would be trade papaerbacks. They’re much cheaper than hardbounds and I’m more comfortable reading them. They may be prone to damage but I protect them by wrapping them up in plastic covers! (Yes I do that.)

What book format do you prefer?

One thought on “Trade Paperbacks FTW!

Leave a Reply

