BOOK REVIEW: Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

15863832
Cover linked to Goodreads!

My rating: ★★★★

Genre:  Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Post-Apocalypse, Romance

Publication Date: May 21, 2011

Synopsis from Goodreads:

It’s been six weeks since the angels of the apocalypse destroyed the world as we know it. Only pockets of humanity remain.

Savage street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night.

When angels fly away with a helpless girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back…

My review:

Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

For months I have been wanting to read this book and I must say it was worth the wait. I just randomly saw this book on bookstagram and it was the cover and title that made me want to read it. The cover is so freaking gorgeous and the title has my name on it. I swear I would read any book that mentions my name.

I recently read The Blast by Sarah Perlmutter and I’ve been craving for more post-apocalyptic books and Angelfall is just the perfect book. My expectations with the book were met.

In the beginning of the story I was really scared. Angels who became bad and brought destruction to our dear planet? Thanks but no thanks. The story started at night when it was really dark and Penryn, with her mom and sister is trying to flee their condo. I was really scared because it was dark (I’m scared of the dark) and there might be gang members, or worse, angels, lurking nearby who can kill them. The story started really well there is good world-building and it’s just pure awesomeness.

Penryn is your typical badass heroine. Though she’s like any other heroines, I still like her. Her sarcasm and lover for her family is what made me like her. My other favorite characters are Dee-Dum because they’re really funny but they still make good spies. Then of course there’s Raffe. I LOVE HIM SO FREAKINGMUCH!!! Is it bad that I love an angel? But hey it’s not real world so it isn’t right? But I wish there’s a real Raffe and he’s my boyfriend and everything will be alright in this world. Sarcastic, smart, oh-so gorgeous with a troubled life. That’s what makes up a swoon-worthy male character and those things are what make up Raffe.

I love the world in this book although it’s in ruins. Susan Ee describes every detail accurately and as an aspiring author I look up to her for it. There is never a dull moment in this book. I like how almost all chapters in this book ends in a cliffhanger that I have to read the next one immediately. Plus, I never expected to cry because of this book. But I did. All the things that happened towards the ending were just heartbreaking.

So I recommend this book to everyone who loves a good post-apocalypse read where there is always something going on in the story. If you’re unsure what to read next, then read this one right now!

Wait for my review on book two. 🙂

angel heart

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

Leave a Reply

