BOOK REVIEW: Voices (The Reincarnation Series #1) by R. E. Rowe

24918404 (1)
Cover linked to Goodreads!

My rating: ★★★

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Publication Date: February 22, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In a small town in Arkansas, two lives that seemingly have nothing in common will converge and change each other forever. A brilliant but tormented street artist and an ex-track star whose career was cut short by a heart condition.

Aimee DeLuca had a promising athletic career before her heart gave out during a high school track and field contest. Aimee struggles to find her way after spending time with a deceased grandmother during a near death experience. Reizo Rush is a street artist whose torment fuels his desire to add color to the gray walls of the city. But Reizo’s tagging and the two voices only he hears land him in perpetual trouble with both his teachers and the law. During a chance encounter, the two quickly find out they have much more in common than love. When they stumble upon a century-old storm cellar hidden underground on Aimee’s uncle’s ranch, they unearth a cellar full of artifacts and a hundred-year-old Will. Once the news of the discovery leaks out, a drug-dealing teen and a mysterious soul named General are determined to bury the truth along with anyone who gets in their way.

My review:

Copy provided by Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

What’s the point of rushing around, worrying about what people think, or worrying about saying something stupid?

The cover for Voices by R. E. Rowe is pretty good. It could use some more sass but I like that the book cover is connected to the actual story. The first chapter is interesting so it got me to reading more of the book but it was super sloooooow. I don’t like slow beginnings. Nothing was happening for, like, half the book. There’s that romance thingy and yes, it was insta-love. Fortunately, the insta-love did not annoy me that much, I’d say it was okay. The two main characters, Aimee and Reizo, are so sweet to each other and they are so cute together. They paint together, how cuuuuute is that? I also had ‘All The Bright Places’ vibe in the beginning of the book but they’re really different books.

When I was about 58% into the story, real stuff began to happen. For me, the whole Zeke Sarov thingy was a little too dramatic and unrealistic. I couldn’t quite connect to the characters; I just want to finish the book to know the ‘The Cloud’ part. I don’t care what happens to the characters. The ending did shock me a little though and it was a little heartbreaking. I want to know what happens in the second book because Voices ended with a cliffhanger but I don’t think I would read the second book immediately.

Voices is quite an interesting book because it deals with reincarnation. I think it was my first time (if I’m not wrong???) to read a book that has reincarnation thingy in it and I’d say reading Voices is an okay experience for me. If you want a light but mysterious read, then add Voices to your TBR now! 🙂

Read my other reviews here.

angel heart

Leave a Reply

