BOOK REVIEW: The Blast by Sarah Perlmutter

Cover linked to Goodreads!
Cover linked to Goodreads!

My rating: ★★★★

Genre: Young Adult, Post-apocalypse, Romance

Publication Date: December 15, 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads:

After a series of blasts force Beatrice Hicks and her family into their prepper bunker, they emerge to discover they are among the survivors of a nuclear apocalypse. Fighting against rogue groups and coping with deaths are just some of the adjustments Beatrice must make to survive, but how will she maintain her humanity after the blast?

My review:

Copy provided for the blog tour.

I think this is the first time I actually read a post-apocalyptic book and I was not let down. The Blast is a promising first book for a series and I can’t wait to read more!

I promise you that in this big world of hurt, you will find love.

I liked how the story started when the main character, Beatrice, is only a kid. It showed how she has grown up in the world learned through hardships. She was such a badass character. The other characters are all unique, they have their own personalities. The world building is good though it has some little faults.

…we find people who make us feel special and we love them for all they are. We love them for their imperfections.

One of the things I liked most about this book is that it is realistic. If the world would be like the world in The Blast (but please don’t let that happen pretty please) I can really picture that there is one girl who would be like Beatrice. The book and characters are consistent. It’s like they really are real people.

…realize that everything that has ever happened to you, all the heartache, all the pain, everything, led to this person who loves you. This is the greatest happiness we can ask for in this life.

The romance is pretty good. There is insta-love but it’s not the annoying kind. I still have some questions and I hope they would be answered in the next book.

The Blast is a heart-pounding post-apocalypse novel. I was always nervous as to what will happen next and the best thing about this book is that it kept me wanting more! I hope I would get the opportunity to read and review the second story/book! 🙂

Love,

Angel

Leave a Reply

