BOOK REVIEW: This Much Space (Twelve Beats in A Bar #2) by K. K. Hendin

Cover linked to Goodreads!
Cover linked to Goodreads!

My rating: ★★★★+0.5

Genre:  New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Publication Date: March 16, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Olivia is Anna Wintour’s worst nightmare, and she doesn’t give a shit. She’s wanted to go into fashion design her whole life, and nothing is going to stop her fabulous plus sized self. Not even her boss from hell, or the fact that she’s the fat Cinderella of the most exclusive lingerie store in Bushwick, Ohio. She’s sworn off dating, because she is focused, dammit, and will not get distracted by anyone in college. She has shit to do and places to go, be it on her own with the clothing she makes, or with the girls in Twelve Beats In A Bar, the all-female a cappella group she’s part of.

Why do group projects always have to ruin everything?

Thierry Acosta has it all. Shortstop on Bushwick University’s baseball team, amazing grades in college, everything he could want. When he gets paired with Olivia for a group project, things are only getting better. And then his dad loses his job, and Thierry’s life falls apart. He can’t manage to get himself to practice, to class… anywhere. He’s got the scars on his wrists to prove that this has happened before, but he thought he was better. He thought he could deal with something like this. The cuts on his thighs say otherwise.

Before they know it, Olivia and Thierry’s relationship has gone from casual project partners to not-so-casual more-than-friends. But when things take a turn for the worse, can they face the growing reality of a relationship that’s become much more serious than either of them expected- or wanted?

My review:

I was given an ARC to review this book for the blog tour. 

I am sooooo happy that I was given the opportunity to review this book. This book is one of the best that I’ve read so far this year. So thank you InkSlinger PR for providing me an ARC of This Much Space! 🙂

What the hell is it about conventionally attractive people that make rational human beings completely lose their shit?

This book is just what I needed after reading a book that gave me stress. It’s so hilarious from start to the end. It made laugh and yes, it also made me cry. It’s a very easy book to read. Everything is just so straightforward. Even though This Much Space is the second book in a series, you can still read it even if you haven’t read the first book.

She smiles, and damn if she didn’t just get prettier.

OLIVIA MARIE VIETH IS MY QUEEN. I love this girl sooooo much. Can I be one of her lucky friends, pretty please? She’s funny, has self-confidence and the drive to make her dreams come true. She is someone you can depend on. I love how crazy she is about clothes and fabrics and all that stuff because I can somehow relate to her, though in my case, I’m crazy about bookish stuffs. I would be so lucky if I can have a friend just like her. Her making me clothes would be a bonus!

I always thought the hardest thing to do would be climbing Everest or something. But the hardest thing in the world is to sit up and get off my bed.

And then there’s Thierry. I love him too. In a way, I can also relate to him. I couldn’t say why because it’s kind of personal. Olivia and Thierry are just those kinds of book characters that I will never forget.

Whoever said college was nothing but fun and games was a fucking liar.

I also liked the parts where the characters are talking about college. I can really get what they’re saying about college works and stuff. But yay to me! It’s summer now here so all I have to do is sleep, read, eat and watch movies. And well, review books too.

I’m also curious about the other Beats girls. I think Jules and I would be great friends considering how bookish she is like me! 🙂 (I want a book dress too. Somebody please make me a book dress.)

…even if you’re confident about something, and you love it with all you have, it will still hurt when other people don’t love it quite as much as you do.

Ahhhh I love this quote so much. I was wondering why this book was titled This Much Space and when I got to that part it was WOW. I must say, it’s one of my favorite parts in the book. This Much Space surprised me in a really good way. It’s hilarious, beautiful, heartbreaking and so damn relatable. It’s a very fast read so I recommend that you read this when you’re in a read-a-thon or if you just want to get ahead of your reading challenge this year. I reeeeeaaaaally liked this book to the point that I also love it. You can be sure that I’ll read the other books in the series, too! 🙂

Read my other reviews here.

Love, Angel

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: This Much Space (Twelve Beats in A Bar #2) by K. K. Hendin

Leave a Reply

