Me as an avid reader

Musing Mondays is a weekly event where MizB will ask a book/reading-related question, and I will answer with my own thoughts on the topic. This is a meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION:Β  How old were you when you realized that you are an AVID reader?

I have always been a reader. My love for books started when I was just a child. My parents always commented on how I love to read and my book buying problems even when I was very young so I realized early on that I’m an avid reader. I think my love for books intensified when Scholastic held a book fair in our school when I was in fifth grade for, like, three days. There were shelves of books and they were affordable so I bought a bunch of them that my adviser or the staff of the book fair (I couldn’t remember who) gave me free books! I was so happy! πŸ˜€ It was because of that Scholastic Book Fair that I discovered my love for mystery books. I first read some books from The Boxcar Children series by Gertrude Chandler Warner and The Baby-Sitters Club series by Ann M. MARTIN. From children mystery books I’m moved on to reading adult crime/thriller/mystery books, actually I’m reading Manhattan Mayhem right now. It is a collection of crime/thriller/mysteryΒ short stories edited by Mary Higgins Clark. Yup it is edited by The Queen of Suspense.

It is also because of that book fair that I began to dream working for HarperCollins Sydney! πŸ˜€ I reeeeeaaally want to work in a publishing company, any publishing company but I have to admit HarperCollins is my number one favorite publisher so it would be a privilege to work there. πŸ˜€

What about you? When did you realize that you’re an avid reader? Tell me in the comments! Or better yet, make a blog post about it (if you have a blog)! πŸ™‚

Love,

Angel

7 thoughts on “Me as an avid reader

Leave a Reply

