BOOK REVIEW: The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger

6931356
Cover linked to Goodreads!

My rating: ★★★★

Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Publication Date: September 7, 2010

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

My review:

Copy was provided by the publisher via NetGalley.

I have been seeing The Duff all over bookstagram, Goodreads and everywhere for a few months now and most of the feedbacks I get are really good. The cover also caught my attention and the book title got me curious. What is the word ‘Duff’? Is that even a word? Then I learned that it stands for: Designated Ugly Fat Friend. Now that’s what I call a strong book title game.

No matter where you go or what you do to distract yourself, reality catches up with you eventually.

Everytime I come across a book that has hundreds of good reviews my expectations get really high. But with The Duff, I controlled myself. Sure the book has a gorgeous cover and an interesting title but from what I’ve heard, The Duff sounded really cliché to me. Personally, I think a little bit of cliché is okay but with The Duff I’m not so sure. But then I read and I was hooked on the first chapter! Yup! Only on the first chapter! That’s big to me because I only get hooked on a book after a few chapters but with The Duff it took me a chapter only.

Wesley Rush was the most disgusting womanizing playboy to ever darken the doorstep of Hamilton High… but he was kind of hot. Maybe if you could put him on mute… and cut off his hands… maybe—just maybe—he’d be tolerable then. Otherwise, he was a real piece of shit. Horn dog shit.

I really had fun reading this book and I only finished it in a day. That’s a record for me.  The book is hilarious. I really like Bianca’s character. She’s not your typical high school girl main character. She knows what her problem is and she’s not whiny. And I love her best friends! Most of the time, really skinny girls with big boobs, perfect skin are bitches in books and movies but that’s not the case with The Duff. Jessica and Casey are really lovely. I would want to be friends with them. Except that my self-esteem would go back to 0. Wesley Rush is okay. He says funny and I think those were the things I like about him. Aside from his hotness. I got Sebastian Kydd (from The Carrie Diaries) vibes from him. The romance is really just okay too. It made me swoon only like once though.

I’m the wind beneath your wings.

I watched the trailer and I wonder why there is a popular girl (a.k.a. Bella Thorne) being mean to Bianca? One of the things I liked about The Duff is that there is NOT ONE really bitchy girl that is being super mean to Bianca. Her problems are just about her family, Wesley, her self-esteem and communicating with her friends. I fear that they may have made the movie cliché. Please let it not happen.

The winter sky has already turned black, but I could still see Wesley’s gray eyes in the darkness. They were exactly the color of the sky before a thunderstorm.

Overall, The Duff has some cliché bits but I endured them. It’s just a really fun read. If you’re looking for a light, cute and enjoyable young adult contemporary book, then you must add The Duff to your TBR pile! 🙂

Read my other reviews here.

Love,

Angel

Leave a Reply

