BOOK REVIEW: Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard (with SPOILERS!)

17878931
Cover linked to Goodreads!

My rating: ★★

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia

Publication Date: February 10, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre ofthose she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

My review:

So this is my first book review that contains spoilers. I decided to include spoilers so I can kind of like, justify why I didn’t like this book. So WARNING: this book review contains spoiler from beginning to end, not just in the first part, so if you don’t want to be spoiled then stop reading this right now. I feel so bad in giving a book a two-star rating. Everyone loves this book but I just didn’t like it. Usually, that’s really the case for me: when a book is popular, I read it then end up not liking it as much as other people. But this is my opinion so please respect it even if it may not agree with yours.

The book started slow. I don’t like books that have slow pacing but still, it’s not enough to stop reading Red Queen so I continue reading it because I want to know what is the mind-blowing plot twist everyone is raving about. I had a ‘Hunger Games feel’ at the beginning because like Katniss, the main character in the story who is named Mare Barrow has a little sister who is so much better than her. Like Prim, yes. Then Mare also has a boy best friend like Katniss. But the similarities are okay because I love The Hunger Games so much. I also had a ‘The Selection trilogy feel’ and ‘Divergent trilogy feel’ but yeah, it’s still fine with me.

This book has an amazing plot that I was so excited to read it. Humans divided by the color of their blood: red blood and silver blood? Yes please. Humans with super powers? Count me in. Dystopian novel? YASSS! Dystopia is one of my all-time favorite genres. Like I said earlier this book has such slow pacing that annoyed me. But I couldn’t put it down because I really want to know the plot twist. So I read it and almost all the time I was reading it, I just really want to stop. But no, the plot twist.

Mare Barrow is probably the main reason why I was so tempted to put down this book. She’s so annoying and inconsistent throughout the whole book. She’s also an ungrateful little bitch. I get that Gisa, her younger sister, gets most of the praise and all that stuff from her parents BUT when Kilorn, her best friend, gets to be conscripted to the war, she immediately wants to abandon her family and flee with him. Dude, your father was damaged because of the war. Your poor family still needs you to get by day by day then you’re just going to abandon them LIKE THAT??! You’re supposed to be brave, girl, then you want to flee with Kilorn just so you won’t get conscripted to the war too. What a coward. THEN she trusted a Silver prince really quick. I totally get that Prince Maven is really handsome and all (I, myself, even fell for him) BUT Mare is supposed to be a Red and Reds are suffering poverty and are being punished because of Silvers, because of the Silver government. Just after a few stories he told you trusted a Silver prince? How freaking stupid is that? Then Prince Cal said this:

You know people, you understand them, you see through them.

Which is NOT exactly true because if she can see through people at least she should have sensed that there is something wrong with Maven.

PLUS, she hated Cal because he has like battle stuffs all over his room and that already means he like killing? GIRL, HE IS A FREAKING PRINCE AND A PRINCE NEEDS TO KNOW BATTLE STUFF IT DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY MEAN HE LIKES KILLING PEOPLE.

Towards the end of the book, when Maven said that Cal will choose her over the people she should have known that there is REALLY something fishy going on. Even though Cal helped her get a job and did other stuffs for her and yeah, probably loves her, it does not automatically mean he would choose her over his people. He’s a prince and a future king of course, he would do things that will benefit the greater good and not choose Mare.

I have nothing to say about Cal. He’s okay to me.

OH MY PRINCE MAVEN!! I loved you! I still do, actually. I’m against you taking advantage of the Reds but if it’s Mare, it’s okay. We can both bring her down. Lol. That’s such a horrible things to say. But whatever.

Towards the end of the book, I had no idea what is going on. I was so confused. I don’t know who has been killed. Then the plot twist came and I thought: THAT’S ALL I WAITED FOR??? Yes, it is still a plot twist but it’s not really that mind-blowing.

The world-building isn’t good. I felt that this book was rushed. I wished the author has explained more stuff. I really like it when there is so many details about the world where the characters live in. it’s like I’m also in that world then I imagine myself that I’m living in that world and what would I do. You know those stuffs. When I’m reading a good dystopian novel, I spend like weeks thinking just about the world the characters live in.

So the things I liked about this book are 1.) the cover. It’s freaking gorgeous. 2.) the tagline becuse it really is relevant to the story. 3.) Mare’s power. I WOULD LOVE TO HAVE HER POWER!! 4.) Maven, Julian and Lucas. I have a new favorite villain because of this book and also, I’m really curious as to what will happen to Julian and Lucas. I really do hope Lucas gets a lot a exposure in the second book because he sure is hot. ANDDDD I love Julian! So maybe I will give the second book a try when it comes out. I really hope it gets better, that Mare will have this huge character development.

Read my other reviews here.

Love,

Angel

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard (with SPOILERS!)

Leave a Reply

