BOOK REVIEW: Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

11235712

My rating: ★★★+0.5

Genre: YA, Dystopia, Sci-Fi, Romance

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

My review:

I’m sure I’ll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.

I have been seeing Cinder all over the Internet for the past few months and I’m very glad that I finally checked it off my TBR list and actually read it. All I knew about this book is that it is in a series, it is a dystopian and sci-fi book and it is a retelling of Cinderella. It sounded awesome plus, Cinderella is one of my favorite Disney princesses (it’s the big hair bun and blue gown that got me oh plus having animals help you in your daily chores).

But if there was one thing she knew from years as a mechanic, it was that some stains never came out.

I enjoyed reading this book though some parts are a bit slow and boring that I contemplated whether to stop and read another book. I’m glad that I did not do it because it’s one of those first books in the series that makes you want to read the rest of the series.

She wouldn’t fit in at a formal ball anyway. Even if she did find dress gloves and slippers that could hide her metal monstrosities, her mousy hair would never hold a curl, and she didn’t know the first thing about makeup. She would just end up sitting off the dance floor and making fun of the girls who swooned to get Prince Kai’s attention, pretending she wasn’t jealous. Pretending it didn’t bother her. Although she was curious about the food.

What a paragraph though the last sentence got you, didn’t it? I love the main character, Cinder, so much. She’s not only a cyborg but a very badass cyborg. She’s a freaking mechanic which is freaking awesome because she can repair just about anything. I can relate to her because I don’t know the first thing about makeup, too. Also I love food. She’s funny and smart which is the classic recipe in creating an awesome main character. Her sidekick, Iko, is equally fascinating as Cinder.

“200,000 single girls,” he said. “Why not you?”

And there goes my heart. To Prince Kai. He’s so freaking cute and handsome which every prince, I believe, should be. He loves his family and nation so much. He is dedicated to his work. What more can a girl ask for? Though I have noticed that Prince Kai has some similarities with Prince Maxon (another prince I would beg to make me his princess) from The Selection Series. But it is okay because I love them both. I can’t wait to see how he is in the second book.

It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.

The world building is okay. I did not get some things first because it was not clearly stated and also, I did not read any synopsis before reading Cinder. The world is better told as the story goes and I like the world in it. There are androids and hovers everywhere which is awesome though I did not like the letumosis thingy. I also noticed some kinda-vampire-characteristics from the Lunars. Lunars have like compulsion powers and they can also be as attractive like vampires.  I like how there are people living on the moon. It’s fantastic.

Soon he was staring past her, at all the abandoned parts.

I really liked how Marissa Meyer retold the Cinderella. You can really see some of the things that are kind of similar with the original story which is pretty cool. The thing I didn’t like about this book is that it is predictable; readers can already guess what will happen just after the first few chapters in the book. I think it would have been better if there is some kind of surprise at the end or a mind blowing plot twist.  Although in general, I liked this book and I think that it is a great way to start a series. You can be sure that I will read the rest of the series immediately (if my TBR pile will let me).

Thank you for reading my review for Cinder! Have you read it? What did you think of it?

You can request a book review by reaching me here.

Love,

Angel

Leave a Reply

