My Top 14 Books of 2014

I hope this isn’t a little too late for me to post this! So in 2014 I read so many YA books. I’m a little disappointed because before, I mostly read adult fiction and I only read like 5 adult fiction books last year and I miss reading them now. Bookstagram influenced me to read more YA books so expect that most of the books listed below are YA. Let’s begin naming my Top 14 Books of 2014 (in no particular order)!

1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green The_Fault_in_Our_Stars - CopyThis book made me cry like I was a baby. I finished reading it when I was in bed in the morning and I had to stop myself from making ugly crying noises because my family was still sleeping. I first read it in early 2013 but I was spoiled by myself (yeah, stupid me) and by the internet (please people stop posting spoilers on the internet!) so I stopped. I read it again earlier in 2014 and even though I know what was going to happen, it still did not prepare me for the ending. This is really just a great book and I’m kind of disappointed that it has gone mainstream that some people now don’t really see or appreciate the beauty of this book, like they just like TFIOS just because of the romance.

2. Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth photo-14 I love strong and brave main characters because they inspire me so much. Again, I was spoiled but again it still did not prepare me for what happened at the last book. Divergent is one of those first books in a trilogy that will make really hooked into the story and will leave you wanting more. Insurgent is okay because really, most of the second books in a trilogy are just okay. They’re not that great (EXCEPT Catching Fire in The Hunger Games) but they’re still not bad. Allegiant is a little disappointing because at first nothing happens then BOOM! I understand why Veronica Roth did what she did. The last part of Allegiant made me feel all the feels because I was going through some tough stuff those times and the last part helped me cope better. So thank you, Veronica Roth. Plus, I adore Veronica’s writing. It’s simple yet still so amazing.

3. The Selection Trilogy by Kiera Cass selection-series I mentioned in my first entry that I love dystopian worlds and although The Selection isn’t really a hardcore dystopian book I still LOVE it. The trilogy is just really a light read so I suggest that you read it after reading an emotional book. A lot of people didn’t like it though because America was annoying but I understand her a little. I also love America’s relationship with her father because I am a daddy’s girl myself. This trilogy is one of my favorites because let’s face it, it’s not that super duper great and there are “annoying America” moments but the thing is, its lightness made me love and enjoy it and I’m super excited for The Heir to come out this year! This trilogy also showcases a very handsome, very cute and just a really adorable prince, Prince Maxon. I’m #TeamMaxon all the way!

4. Every Day by David Levithan every-day-book-cover11 This is such an emotional book and will make you think about things. This is a story about A who wakes up in a different body every day. It’s just an amazing book and it will open your mind about a lot of things. I also can’t wait for the sequel coming out this year!

5. Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang 18163646 This is a very heavy book not in terms of weight (it’s a really thin book, actually) but in terms of how emotional it is. There is an air of mystery with the book in which you will have to guess who is the person that is telling the story. Falling Into Place will always be in my all-time favorite list. It’s an I’m-reading-it-for-5-hours-straight kind of book. (Even though I didn’t read it for 5 hours straight because I was busy with school. But if I had a chance to do it, I would.)

6. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover somedayUK_zpsf4272d24 This book is the bomb. The thing is I don’t really like the New Adult genre but this amazing book made me want to read them maybe a little more (I might read CoHo books first, then other NA books later). So the story in the book kind of happened to me and the way Colleen Hoover told it is very true and very beautiful. I am kind of wondering how CoHo knew me like I can really relate to the character I CANNOT EVEN.

7. The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell the_carrie_diaries_cover I am addicted to the t.v. series and I’m sad that it still doesn’t have a season 3. I was kind of scared to read the book because I thought it will ruin the t.v. series for me but it didn’t. They are both different from each other but still so good. This is another light read but I still connected with Carrie I seriously love her (who wouldn’t love Carrie Bradshaw though). I HATED the Sebastian Kydd in the book but I am addicted to the Sebastian Kydd in the t.v. series. I hope Austin Butler is reading this because Mr. Austin Butler, I. LOVE. YOU. (LOL but guys Vanessa Hudgens is like half Filipina and I’m a full Filipina so Austin can get more of that Filipino blood from me hehehe. They’re a really cute couple though #RelationshipGoals)

8. Where Rainbows End by Cecilia Ahern CeceliaAhern_WhereRainbowsEnd This book is commonly known as Love, Rosie because of its movie adaptation starring my sister, Lily Collins and my boyfriend, Sam Claflin. This is really good book that tells the whole life of the two main characters. It’s full of wisdom but still so funny and entertaining. I read it in a day. It’s that good. I highly recommend it to you guys.

9. Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3) by Richelle Mead ShadowKiss_Novel Every time I finish a Vampire Academy book, I am not disappointed. So I’m not disappointed with the third book from the VA series, just super SAD. I had a horrible reading slump after reading this book. Oh yes, I did not cry but I just stared into thin air for the longest time of my life and contemplated what just happened at the end. I still haven’t read the fourth book because I still haven’t moved on from what happened. But still, this is a really great book.

10. Paper Towns by John Green PaperTowns2009_6A This is a really funny but still a deep book. Another book that won’t make you leave your chair for hours without finishing it. It made me realize things. Paper Towns is my favorite John Green book and I read it twice! Hihi! 🙂

11. The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith 10798416 That is the longest book title I know. I love cute romantic stories, not too deep but not too shallow also. The family thingy on this book made me feel all the feels too. Jennifer E. Smith writes beautifully and I’m a little sad that I haven’t met her when she came to the Philippines but she replied to me on Instagram! *happy dance*

12. Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by (Uncle) Rick Riordan pj This is one of the series that you won’t regret reading.  Percy Jackson is the best POV I’ve ever read. Sure, the series is meant for younger readers but at 16, I still loved it and enjoyed every book. The action scenes didn’t make me ‘tired’ from reading it and the last book was WOW! Just read the books guys, they’re just epic.

13. The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky perks_of_being_a_wallflower_book_cover_2 I started reading this book in 2012 but I was reading it on a computer screen so it was hard to read that I stopped. So I read it again last year and I’m glad that I picked it up to read now that I’m a much more mature person and reader. This is my favorite stand-alone book and I actually read it twice this year!

14. We Were Liars by E.Lockhart WeWereLiars__140612011956-575x883 The hype over We Were Liars is well deserved. E. Lockhart‘s writing is so unique and so beautiful. The twist at the end was WOW. It’s a sad but a really great book.

That’s it! My Top 14 Books of 2014. Based on the books listed above what do you guys recommend me reading this 2015? Comment them down below! Happy reading!

Love, (Rosie lol) Angel

(Originally posted in: http://thebookishangel.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2015-01-08T21:13:00-08:00&max-results=7 on January 4, 2014)

Leave a Reply

