BOOK REVIEW: My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher

ede010b7aefb0bed725128c49c67f3fd

My rating: ★★★★★

Genre: contemporary, YA, death

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Ten-year-old Jamie hasn’t cried since it happened. He knows he should have – Jasmine cried, Mum cried, Dad still cries. Roger didn’t, but then he is just a cat and didn’t know Rose that well, really.

Everyone kept saying it would get better with time, but that’s just one of those lies that grown-ups tell in awkward situations. Five years on, it’s worse than ever: Dad drinks, Mum’s gone and Jamie’s left with questions that he must answer for himself.

This is his story, an unflinchingly real yet heart-warming account of a young boy’s struggle to make sense of the loss that tore his family apart.

My review:

“I thought how nice would it be to pick up the phone like a grown up and order a different life as if it was a pizza or something. I’d ask for a dad who didn’t drink and a mum who hadn’t left, but I wouldn’t change Jas one little bit.”

Can I just first say that Annabel Pitcher is one of the most brilliant and amazing authors ever? She sure is! I read her other book, Ketchup Clouds a couple of weeks or three ago and I absolutely loved it I know I have to read this book immediately. Annabel Pitcher’s books have really interesting titles, Ketchup Clouds then this one, My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece. The covers are really pretty, too.

“Just ‘cos they’re grown-ups, doesn’t mean they’re always right.”

This story is told from a point of view a ten- year-old boy named Jamie. The writing is fantastic because you can really tell that a ten-year-old is telling the story. Though the main character is a child, young adult and adult readers can still be engrossed in this book because of way it is written. The readers can really see the innocence of Jamie and how his faith on his family, even as a young boy, never faltered. The characters are equally interesting as the title. I really liked Jamie, he is a charming little boy and if ever I can choose a little brother, I would totally pick him. He is innocent and very smart at the same time. Sunya, Jamie’s best friend is the ‘weird girl’ in the class. She may be weird for most of her classmates but she has this really different character when she’s with Jamie. She’s an awesome character for a kid. Then there’s Jas! Oh how I would love to be her best friend! Her outward appearance may not tell that she’s a really loving sister to Jamie because she always dyes her hair and wears black clothes. I really adore her and how I wish I could have been there for her because aside from Sunya, she’s the other person who always has been there for Jamie.

“If envy is red and doubt is black then happiness is brown. I looked from the little brown stone to the tiny brown freckle to her huge brown eyes.”

I like reading books that are set in one of the major events that happened in the world like this book and World War II. I know they will be heartbreaking but I still love them. My favorite part of this book would be the climax. I wouldn’t say it because you’d be spoiled. It was heartbreaking and hopeful and the feels are real guys *insert crying here*. I also like the part where Jamie and Sunya’s friendship started.

“I zoomed forward and kissed her freckle, and it was exciting and frightening, just like the Headmaster had said our resolution would be.”

You can already tell that I love this book with all my heart. It’s fascinating, wonderful and of course, a tear-jerker. I recommend this to those who have loved “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green and “If He Had Been With Me” by Laura Nowlin” because this book is just as heartbreaking as those two. You can also watch the book trailer for My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece below!

If you want me to review a certain book, you can reach me here. Thank you!

Love,

Angel

(Originally posted on: http://thebookishangel.blogspot.com/2015/02/book-review-my-sister-lives-on.html last February 18, 2015)

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher

Leave a Reply

